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ORDER OF THE  

STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

AMENDING RULES 

The state superintendent of public instruction hereby amends s. PI 36.03 (1) (d) relating to the public school open 

enrollment program. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

ANALYSIS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Statute interpreted:  s. 118.51 (3) (a) 1., Stats. 

 

Statutory authority:  s. 227.11 (2) (a) and (b), Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Department is responsible for administering the Public School Open Enrollment Program under s. 118.51, Stats. Section 

118.51 (3) (a) 1., Stats., requires parents who wish to participate in the program to submit an application “on a form 

provided by the department . . .”  Further, s. 118.51 (15), Stats., requires the department to prepare and make available to 

parents the application form required under sub. (3) (a) 1.  The department is proposing to change the signature 

requirements on the application form. 

 

Section 118.51 (9), Stats, provides that a parent may appeal an open enrollment denial within 30 days of the decision.    

Section PI 36.10 (2) (a) provides that the 30 days begins on the day the parent receives the notice of denial.   As a result of 

public testimony, the department is proposing to amend the rule to provide that the 30 days begins on the day the notice is 

mailed or delivered to the parent, whichever occurs first.   The current rule has resulted in some problems when a parent 

claims, sometimes months after the deadline for sending notifications of approval or denial, that the notice of denial was 

never received.    

 

Chapter PI 36 contains the administrative rules for the program, including requirements pertaining to submitting an 

application for open enrollment.  

 

Because the department is responsible for administering the open enrollment program and the forms required under s. 

118.51, Stats., s. PI 36.03 (1) (d) and s. PI 36.10 (2) (a) are being amended pursuant to rule-making authority granted under 

s. 227.11 (2) (a) and (b), Stats.  

 

Related statute or rule:  None. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

Section PI 36.03 (1) (d) requires a parent to sign the open enrollment application form.  If parents are divorced or legally 

separated, both parents are required to sign the form.  This proposed rule would repeal the requirement that both parents 

must sign the form.  

 

Section 118.51 (9), Stats, provides that a parent may appeal an open enrollment denial within 30 days of the decision.    

Section PI 36.10 (2) (a) provides that the 30 days begins on the day the parent receives the notice of denial.  As a result of 

public testimony, the department is proposing to amend the rule to provide that the 30 days begins on the day the notice is 

mailed or delivered to the parent, whichever occurs first.   

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations: 
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There are no similar existing or proposed federal regulations concerning inter-district open enrollment programs.   

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois has no open enrollment program. 

Michigan has a limited open enrollment program but there is no application available for review. 

Iowa and Minnesota have statewide open enrollment programs but do not require more than one signature on the application 

form. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

Current administrative rules require a parent to sign the open enrollment application.   If parents are divorced or legally 

separated, both parents are required to sign the form.   The Department proposes to repeal the requirement for both parents 

to sign the form.   

 

This provision was intended to require parents to keep each other informed and to keep school districts out of the middle of 

the situation.  However, it has created a hardship in cases where one parent cannot be located.        

 

In other cases, the rule has had the opposite of the desired effect.  The open enrollment period is only three weeks long and 

custody issues can be very complicated. Three weeks can be too short a time to have the issue resolved, especially when 

mediation and/or family court are involved.  Requiring both signatures before the issue has been resolved reduces the child's 

educational options.  And occasionally, school districts are drawn into the disagreement, rather than being insulated from it. 

  

 

The open enrollment form is an application only.  Allowing one of the parents to sign the form, even without informing the 

other, is not determinative of where the child must go to school.  That question must be resolved in the way all major 

decisions are made with respect to the child.  However, it keeps the open enrollment option available so that the decision to 

attend school under the open enrollment program can be made later in accordance with any court order about how these 

decisions are to be made, as long as there is compliance with any applicable open enrollment deadline.  

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation of economic 

impact report:  None. 

 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  None. 

 

Effect on small business: 

 

The proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats. 

 

Agency contact person: (including email and telephone) 

 

Mary Jo Cleaver, open enrollment consultant, at maryjo.cleaver@dpi.state.wi.us or (608) 267-9101 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Written comments on the proposed rules received no later than August 31, 2005, will be given the same consideration as 

testimony presented at the hearing.  Comments may be submitted via email to lori.slauson@dpi.state.wi.us or by writing to 

Lori  Slauson, Administrative Rules and Federal Grants Coordinator, Department of Public Instruction, 125 South Webster 

Street, P.O. Box 7841, Madison, WI  53707. 

mailto:maryjo.cleaver@dpi.state.wi.us
mailto:lori.slauson@dpi.state.wi.us
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__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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SECTION 1.  PI 36.03 (1) (d) is amended to read:   

 

 PI 36.03 (1) (d)  The parent shall sign the application.  If the pupil’s parents are separated or divorced and if the 

parents have joint custody of the pupil, the application shall be signed either by both parents or by the parent who has been 

given sole power to make major decisions under s. 767.24 (6) (am), Stats.  

SECTION 2.  PI 36.10 (2) (a) is amended to read:   

 PI 36.10 (2) (a) The parent of a pupil whose application for open enrollment has been denied by a school board may 

file an appeal of this decision to the state superintendent within 30 days after receiving the decision is delivered to the parent 

or postmarked, whichever occurs first.  Upon receipt of the appeal, the department shall send a copy of the appeal to the 

resident and nonresident school boards. 

 

 

 

 

 

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month commencing after the date of 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats.  

 

Dated this _____ day of October, 2005 

 

 

 

 

__________________________________________ 

Elizabeth Burmaster 

State Superintendent 

 


